2017 Jarchow Conservation Award

Congratulations to Melissa Amarello and Jeff Smith of Advocates for Snake Preservation upon being selected as the recipients of the Jarchow Conservation Award. The Board of Directors of the THS established the Jarchow Conservation Award in July 1992 to honor individuals or organizations for their service to the conservation of the amphibians and reptiles of the deserts of North America. The award is named for James L. Jarchow, D.V.M, of Tucson because of his dedication and contributions to the conservation of amphibians and reptiles for more than 20 years, the first Jarchow Conservation Award was given to Dr. Jarchow on 15 September 1992.

Advocates for Snake Preservation is a new 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to changing the way people view and treat snakes. They officially launched on Endangered Species Day, Friday, May 16th 2014. Their mission is “To use science, education, and advocacy to promote compassionate conservation and coexistence with snakes.

The date place of the awarding will be February 19, 2017, from 5-9 PM at the Southern Arizona Work Space on the northwest corner of 6th Avenue and 7th Street.

Posted by


Lost your password?